What is wrong with my code?

7 posts (showing 1-7)
Arnas

Market Level 0Community Level 2
144 posts

I'm sorry if I make a lot of new threads here lately.

Anyway, I started working on math collisions today, and I have never done this before. It's a bit of a knot at the moment, so I'm trying to figure out how to make this work.

Here is my current code: (Note: Image gets cut off!)

Preview:

When I only had left and right collisions made, everything seemed fine, but as soon as I created the top/bottom collisions, it seemed to always send the hero to the corners, bottom ones to be specific, depending on which side I collided from.

I had a feeling that it has something to do with the corner intersection on the hero between the vertical and horizontal colliders. Meaning two, or even three colliders can be touching the wall at the same given moment.

I tried to think of ways to reduce the sizes of those colliders, but they are not shapes. Should I use shapes instead, or is there a workaround with this? (Depending which way is better)

posted 2015-06-20T19:46:58-07:00 | edited 2015-06-20T19:58:32-07:00
JohnBlackburne

Market Level 3Community Level 10
2188 posts

It looks like you have everything you need, but you need to refactor it. The most obvious way is this: put the collision tests inside the initial four lines. What I mean is the first line, Key.W, moves you up (presumably).  Only if you are moving up can you collide with your object in the up direction. So do that test immediately after the Hero._y -= 10.

Alternately set a 'direction' flag in the first four lines and use that to decide which direction to test. That might make the code clearer, especially if you are testing multiple object collisions. As a bonus the code is more efficient because you are no longer doing tests you don't need.

posted 2015-06-22T00:13:12-07:00
Arnas

144 posts

On Jun 21, 2015, JohnBlackburne said:

-