Data Bridge API

15 posts (showing 1-15)
FGL_Devault

FGL AdminCommunity Level 3
246 posts

Hello GamerSafe devs!

Summary: Hosts can get scoreboard info from GamerSafe games.

I've been working on GamerSafe for a few months. I just finished work on a new Data Bridge feature that allows host sites to collect information about player activity in GamerSafe games. Expect it to go live in a few days. Initially it will relay scoreboard entries, but we can add more messages as desired.

I tried to make setup very simple, just a snippet of javascript on the host page:

<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
function setupGamerSafeBridge() {
    var bridgeConfig = {
        user: "hostUserID", 
        session: "hostSessionID", 
        url: "http://localhost/GamerSafe/bridge_test.php",
        salt: "kosher" 
    };
    return bridgeConfig;
}
// -->

Once GS is loaded, it calls setupGamerSafeBridge() through the External Interface. The host should write server code to generate the user and session IDs, but they are optional if you'd rather not. Right now the salt is just used to do some simple checksumming. The system could be made more secure with a bit more work, but that wasn't our main concern on the first pass. The most important part of the bridgeConfig is the URL, and this is where the scoreboard data will be sent.

Now, every time the game writes to a scoreboard, it will now copy that URL with the scoreboard entry data. The data comes in via HTTP POST. I've written a sample bridge receiver PHP script at http://www.flashgamelicense.com/resources/bridge_test.txt

All bridge messages will contain the following parameters:

userID: from setupGamerSafeBridge()

sessionID: from setupGamerSafeBridge()

message: an identifier for the type of message being sent from the GamerSafe lib - in this first version, "scoreboard_entry" is all that currently is sent over the bridge. Adding more messages is very easy.